Beautiful home in a charming, centrally located suburb of Johannesburg!

Beautiful home in a charming, centrally located suburb of Johannesburg!




feb 2010

¿Quieres ponerte en contacto con este miembro?

Inicia tu período de prueba gratis de dos semanas para empezar a hablar con otros miembros.


¿Te gusta lo que estás viendo? Ponte en contacto con este miembro para ver cuándo su casa está disponible

Pon tus fechas de viaje preferidas

Elige tu modo de transporte preferido
Añade un mensaje personal y envíalo

No disponible


No disponible


Añadidasa  la lista de favoritos

Esta casa está en tu lista de favoritos. Para acceder a tus favoritos haz clic en el icono de navegación

Add to shortlist

This home is not yet in your shortlist

2 Dormitorios
Número de huéspedes 2
2 baños

Acerca de nuestra casa

Our house is situated in a quiet street, in one of the best suburbs in the city. It offers some of the characteristics and charm of the old structure, golden-colored oregon pine floors and high ceilings, but has also been beautifully renovated, with a lovely fireplace, an open-plan lounge and dining room, and skylights bringing sunshine into the living area.

In the lounge, you will be able to watch television (with full satellite coverage), or enjoy the modern fireplace. Otherwise, you can also enjoy a book from our personal library, sitting on the bench in our front garden or perhaps lying on the bench in the dining room. At night, you could select a bottle of wine from our wine rack and enjoy dinner in the dinign room with its charming wrought-iron chandelier.

The main bedroom has a double bed with sandalwood chests as bed tables, and has a beautiful en-suite bathroom with a free standing bath, and a touch of the old and new, under a beautiful, eye-shaped window and with wooden flooring. Both bedrooms have ample cupboard space, and the main bathroom has a shower, two basins as well as a large bath. The kitchen has ample space, is fully equippedm and has a separate scullery with a dishwasher and washign machine.

The house has a front and a back garden. The front garden is small but comfortable, with a water feature as well as bench. The back garden also has a garden table and chairs, as well as a small pool, with a solar-heated water system.

The house also boasts good security, with high perimeter walls, electric fencing, burglar bars, an inside and outside alarm system, as well as 24-hour security guards patrolling the street outside. There are also panic buttons installed with a 24-hour armed response servioce. There is secure parking inside the property for two cars, with an automated garage door.

The house is cleaned on a weekly basis by a cleaning lady.

Our house is located in a suburb called Melville, which is one of the original, central suburbs of Johannesburg. These original, central suburbs are the nicest suburbs of the city, as they are planted full of trees and therefore far more green and welcoming. In addition, they are also centrally located and close to everything. When we got together 4 years ago, it was the first neighbourhood we stayed in, and it remains our favorite in the city.

Melville is one of the most sought after neighbourhoods in the city, not only due to its centrality, but also because of its feel. The majority of its inhabitants are young professionals, and its main road, within walking distance, not only retains some of the old character of the area, but is filled with great bars, restaurants, cafe's, book shops and art galleries that remain popular. It has a young, relaxed and artistic feel to it, and it is the neighborhood of choice for many of the country's artists and celebrities.

Contrary to most of the other central suburbs, Melville's properties are not too big, making the property sizes manageable, and allowing you more freedom to just lock up and go. It is also one of the safer areas in the city, where you can feel free to go for a walk or for a run in the mornings or evenings, or to walk down to one of the restaurants close-by for breakfast, lunch or sundowners, but then return to a quiet street where there are very few cars driving around, and it is peaceful and quiet.

Melville is about 15 minutes drive from Ellis Park (the area's very close to it tend not to be very safe), 20 minutes from Soccer City, 10 minutes' drive from Rosebank and 20 minutes' drive from Sandton, even when there is traffic. Melville is located on an active bus route, but public transport in South Africa remains limited and unreliable.

Hi! This house is the first house that we bought together as a couple, and that we've been living in for less than a year. We've been together for 4 years now. We are both young professionals, with Martin working as a manager for a small investment company, and Chintu working as a senior manager and team leader for a prominent investment bank. We don't have any children as yet, and unfortunately, due to all our travelling and studies (we are both doing our Masters part-time), we do not have pets either.

Martin is South African and Afrikaans (a community descendant from the first European settlers before British rule). He has grown up in South Africa, in Cape Town, although he travelled extensively and frequently to Europe (mainly France) as a teenager. As a result, he can understand and speak French to a reasonable extent. The Afrikaans language is also mainly derived from Dutch, and he can therefore understand Dutch to some extent as well. He also understands a bit of German. Martin's family is spread all over the world.

Chintu is Zambian and grew up in Lusaka, the capital of Zambia. She moved to South Africa for her studies, and has since remained to work. Chintu also speaks some French, and she is currently learning Arabic. Aside from that, she can speak and understand many more languages native to Zambia and South Africa. Chintu is brilliant with languages and is particularly passionate about exploring new languages and cultures.

Both of us want to improve/refresh our fluency in French, as well as start to learn Spanish. We also share many interests - we both love travelling, enjoy reading, as well as good wine and good food, and exploring new cultures. We both share a passion for enjoying life, although we are both hard workers. In our spare time, we enjoy travelling, reading, and spending time with friends.


ES: Martin's reviews

ES: As a host ES: (1)


Quiero recibir ofertas
No disponible

Where is it?

También te puede gustar